The Executive Committee holds ultimate authority over the Society as representatives of the members. Thirteen voting members meet monthly. Executive Committee members serve two-year terms, staggered every two years (i.e., half of the board is vacated and up for election biennially). Paid members suggest nominations to be put to the members for election. The current voting members of the Society for Learning Analytics Research are:

Executive Officers

  • President Stephanie Teasley (University of Michigan, USA)
  • President-Elect Abelardo Pardo (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Vice President Xavier Ochoa (Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral, Ecuador)
  • Treasurer Oleksandra Poquet (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Secretary Leah Macfadyen (University of British Columbia, Canada)


    • Communications Chair Leah Macfadyen (University of British Columbia, Canada)
    • Events and SIGs Chair Xavier Ochoa (Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral, Ecuador)
    • Membership Chair Abelardo Pardo (University of Sydney, Australia)
    • Website Chair Srećko Joksimović (University of South Australia, Australia)
    • Education Chair Hendrik Drachsler (The German Institute for International Educational Research, Germany)
    • Inclusion Chair Shenita Ray (Georgetown University, USA)
    • SIGs Chair Simon Buckingham Shum (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)
    • Member at Large Christopher Brooks (University of Michigan, USA)
    • Member at Large Rebecca Ferguson (Open University, UK)
    • Member at Large Hiraoki Ogata (Kyoto University, Japan)
    • Executive Manager Grace Lynch (RMIT University, Australia) (non-voting)
    • Event and Management Coordinator Nicole Hoover (SoLAR) (non-voting)

    Founding President and Lifetime SoLAR Member

    • George Siemens (University of Texas at Arlington, USA)

To learn more about the Society and the SoLAR Executive Committee, please review the Society’s Organizing documents.

To stay up to date with the decisions and actions of the society, please review the Executive Committee’s Monthly Agendas and Decisions Summaries.

Founding Members
Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content